Inter-university Agreements - Mobility of Academics

Inter-university Agreements - Mobility of Academics

Charles University’s inter-university agreements enable academic staff members to travel abroad for short periods (1–3 weeks) for purposes of research, study, and teaching.

Most of the inter-university agreements that Charles University concludes with foreign partner universities support the mobility of researchers, doctoral students and post-doctoral students. These regard short-term (one- to three-week) research, study and lecture stays, which the academic staff arrange with their foreign partners in advance.

The numbers of the academic mobility are limited by contracts (i.e., numbers of days and persons per year), provided reciprocity and according to the current financial conditions of both universities. No academic staff is entitled to the academic mobility automatically.

A complete list of partner universities of Charles University currently involved in academic mobility schemes can be found here.

Call - mobility, in the calendar year 2022

Who can apply:

a) scientific and teaching staff of all faculties of Charles University, incl. postdoctoral students (in regular employment with the Charles University, not freelancers),

b) PhD students in all faculties of Charles University


The closing date for applications is 3 December 2021, applications to be sent to email:

General selection criteria and financial backing of the stay

General selection criteria

· mutually beneficial cooperation

· perspective of long-term cooperation

· support for junior scientists

· new scientists and new disciplines

· reciprocity


Financial backing of the stay The faculty of Charles University contributes to travel expenses according to internal rules, the host university contributes to the living expenses (ie. accommodation and per diems). The level of contributions varies from country to country and is also governed by the university’s current financial capacity. In the event that a foreign university does not have sufficient financial resources to cover subsistence costs or can only partially cover them, the researcher must secure an additional source of funding

Application Process

The applicant contacts his/her current/potential scientific partner at a contracted foreign university and agrees with him/her on the specific content and purpose of his/her stay. Based on the agreement, the applicant prepares the application form in one original copy (please do not staple) including:

  1. Academic Visitor Application – Application Form
  2. Invitation letter from a foreign partner proving the consent of the purpose of the applicant's stay. Please, provide the invitation letter on the letterhead of the partner’s university.
  3. Justification for multiple stays (concerning applications for more than 2 trips a year to one country).

The deadline for application submission for the calendar year 2022 will be announced in October/November 2021.

  • the application documents for all foreign partner universities shall be sent electronically to the email: OR by internal post to Gabriela Vernerová International Office, Faculty of Social Sciences, Hollar Building)
  • The mobility of researchers in non-European countries can be discussed individually at any time during the year.

Obligations of academic mobility participants

  • Please, report the agreed date of your stay to OZS FSV (unless it is specified in the application form or if there is a change),
  • Immediately report a possible cancellation of your stay to OZS FSV so your spot can be offered to other interested parties,
  • within 14 days after your return, fill in the Report of a foreign trip (Závěrečná zpráva ze zahraniční cesty), let it sign by the head of the department, and submit it to the International Office of the Faculty which will forward it to the International Relations Office at the Rectorate.

Partner universities

The list of Inter-university agreements that the Faculty of Social Sciences participates on:


Yerevan State University


Griffith University

Macquarie University

University of Melbourne

University of Queensland


Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridsky


Universidade de São Paulo


Concordia University

McGill University

Simon Fraser University

Université de Montréal

University of Toronto


Universidad de Chile


Renmin University


L'Ecole des hautes études en sciences sociales, Paris


Free University of Tbilisi

Tbilisi Ivane Javakhishvili State University


Goethe Universität Frankfurt am Main

Justus-Liebig-Universität Giessen

Technische Universität Dresden

Universität Bayreuth

Universität Bonn

Universität des Saarlandes

Universität Heidelberg

Universität Leipzig


Eötvös Loránd University


Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Tel Aviv University


Doshisha University

Kobe University

Ritsumeikan University

Tokyo University for Foreign Studies

University of Tsukuba

Waseda University


Kazakh Ablai Khan University


University of Latvia


Vilnius University


Université du Luxembourg


Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

New Zealand

University of Otago


University of Oslo


Universidad de Lima


Lomonosov Moscow State University

St. Petersburg State University


University of Belgrade


Nanyang Technological University


Comenius University in Bratislava

Constantine the Philosopher University in Nitra

Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice


University of Ljubljana

South Africa

University of Pretoria

South Korea

Hankuk University for Foreign Studies

Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology

Korea University

Kyung Hee University

Seoul National University

Sungkyunkwan University, Seoul


Universität Basel


Tamkang University


Ivan Franko National University of Lviv

Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv


Kansas State University

North Carolina State University

State University of New York at New Paltz

University of New Orleans

University of Oregon

University of St. Thomas

University of Washington


Vietnam National University, Hanoi


For more information contact Exchange Program Coordinator: Ms Gabriela Vernerová, email: