Scientific Council

Scientific Council

The Scientific Council takes care of the development and strategy of the scientific and research activities of the Faculty of Social Sciences. It is the Dean’s advisory arm in outlining long-term strategies in this field.

The Scientific Council has the following legal assignments:

  1. Discuss long-term plans for the Faculty’s educational, scientific, research and development, artistic and other activities drawn in compliance with the long-term planning endeavors of a public institution of higher learning;
  2. Approve study programs to be taught at the Faculty;
  3. Participate in procedures to appoint associate professors and full professors within legally set limits.

The Dean appoints the members of the Scientific Council from among leading experts in the fields pursued by FSV UK. Scientists from non-Charles University centres account for at least one third of the members of the Scientific Council.

Current Members


Head of the Council

PhDr. Alice Němcová Tejkalová, Ph.D.

Full Members

prof. RNDr. Ing. Michal Černý, Ph.D.

prof. PhDr. Marie Bořek-Dohalská, DrSc.

Dr. Ing. Zdeněk Drábek

prof. PhDr. Stanislav Hubík, CSc.

JUDr. Michal Illner

doc. PhDr. Jan Karlas, M.A., Ph.D.

doc. Ing. Michal Kejak, M.A., CSc.

RNDr. Tomáš Kostelecký, CSc.

PhDr. Dušan Kováč, DrSc.

doc. PhDr. Michal Kubát, Ph.D.

prof. PhDr. Jaroslav Kučera, CSc.

doc. Ing. Daniel Münich, Ph.D.

prof. MgA. David Jan Novotný

prof. PhDr. Martin Potůček, CSc., MSc.

prof. PhDr. Lenka Rovná, CSc.

prof. PhDr. Blanka Říchová, CSc.

prof. RNDr. Ing. František Turnovec, CSc.

prof. RNDr. Jan Ámos Víšek, CSc.

prof. Ing. Miloslav Vošvrda, CSc.

doc. PhDr. Jiří Winkler, Ph.D.

doc. JUDr. PhDr. Jan Wintr, Ph.D.

Honorary Members

prof. Dr. Detlef Brandes

prof. Pawel Dembinski, Ph.D.

prof. PhDr. Frank L. Kaplan

prof. Dr. Zdislaw Krasnodebski

prof. PhDr. Jiří Kraus, DrSc.

prof. PhDr. Jan Křen, DrSc.

prof. PhDr. Miroslav Kusý, CSc.

prof. Christian Lequesne

prof. Ing. Michal Mejstřík, CSc.

prof. Georges Mink

prof. Dr. Miroslav Novák

prof. PhDr. Michal Reiman, DrSc.

prof. Stein Ringen

prof. Jacques Rupnik

prof. PhDr. Ilja Šrubař

prof. PhDr. Jan Švejnar, Ph.D.

prof. Laszlo Varadi

Termíny zasedání

  • Next meeting of the Scientific Council is planned on 14th March 2018.
  • Meetings of the Scientific Council are held from 13:00 hours in the faculty´s Hollar building at Smetanovo nábřeží 6, Prague 1 (Room No. 212, 2nd floor) except for the November one, when the ceremonial meeting is held at the same hour in the small auditorium of the historic buildings of Carolina (Small Assembly Hall/Malá aula - 1st floor).